And… I got my perfect REAL job!!!

UPDATED 2/13/10.  I’ve been so excited about my bourgeoning career that I couldn’t even find time to blog for over a week!

Here is the official news:  I’ve been hired as the “Assistant to the Art Department” at G. P. Putnam’s/Philomel (a part of Penguin Young Readers Group).  I’ll be working with/under the same wonderful folks for whom I interned this summer.  I get my OWN spring intern (ha!).  And I start part-time on Tuesday, with the expectation to go full-time in May.

If you had asked me two weeks ago, this is the best “dream” scenario I could have made up.  I get to work on books that I’ve always loved, with co-workers that I already adore, at one of the best publishing houses in the world.  For a salary.

What does this mean for the blog?  Well, I’m still moving onward and upward, and an entry-level job doesn’t mean that I won’t still be pursuing my dreams.  So – let me just say it now – this is my PERSONAL blog.  Any opinions, thoughts or feelings shared on it do not reflect the views of my employers, work contacts or publishers.  Especially Penguin.  Hows that for a disclaimer?

Anyway, it’s been a lot of hard work and some perfect timing, but I could not be more excited to start, and more grateful to the people in my life who helped me get here.  Please forgive me my periods of gushing!

Cheers!

photo creditphoto credit / photo credit

One response to “And… I got my perfect REAL job!!!

  1. I’m way behind the times, but just saw this post — congrats!! That’s awesome!! So, when are we getting that drink?

Leave a Reply

