The Summer Reading List 2010

Kicking off the blog with a classic summer tradition – the reading list!

Now that I have a daily commute and plenty of relaxation time at Brighton Beach, I can’t wait to breeze through these picks:

The Girl With The Dragon TattooStieg Larsson / I’m not usually a fan of murder mysteries, but this trilogy has been red-hot for so long, I might as well jump in the fire, too.

An Education – Lynn Barber / Like so many films that leave you wanting more, I can’t wait to dive into the story again – but this time from the inspiration herself.

This Is Where I Leave You – Jonathan Tropper / Maybe I want to read this book because I’m a sucker for bitingly witty takes on deeper truths.  Or maybe I just like the cover design.

Prospect Park West – Amy Sohn / Juicy, juicy summer gossip – Park Slope-style!

Dreaming In Hindi – Katherine Russell Rich / Please let this satisfy my craving for all things reminiscent of Eat Pray Love and Bollywood…

The American Painter – Emma Dial / Woman in the New York art world.  Sold.

The Imperfectionists Tom Rachman / This cast of quirky, complex characters, set in a dying newspaper of bustling Rome, sounds so appealing that I may have to splurge for the hardcover (note: every other book on this list is in paperback, because I’m cheap).

Prep – Curtis Sittenfeld / Don’t judge!  It’s no worse than watching Pretty Little Liars on Hulu…. and obviously everyone does that.

Running With Scissors – Augusten Burroughs / I’ve read every other author along the lines of Augusten Burroughs – except for the man himself.  It’s like being a punk fan who has never heard The Clash.

Both Ways Is the Only Way I Want It – Maile Meloy / Since G. P. Putnam’s gets to publish her first YA project, I should probably check out her books for adults.  If she’s any bit as lyrical as her brother (Colin Meloy of the Decemberists), I’ll love it!

The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins / I’m only about two years behind the ball on dystopian YA fiction.  Guess I better get started.

Stay tuned to see how all these promising books turn out.  Any suggestions?  Please recommend!

3 responses to “The Summer Reading List 2010

  1. Let’s see. I am on book number 6 for this summer and I have read…
    1. Come Back by Claire Fontaine and Mia Fontaine
    2. Memoirs of a Midget by Walter De la Mare
    3. A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole
    4. A Gate at the Stairs by Lorie Moore
    5. Johnny One-Eye by Jerome Charyn
    and I am currently reading The Great Perhaps by Joe Meno.
    My goal is 10 books.

  2. Pingback: Jonathan Tropper And The Magic Cover Design « Walking In Public

  3. Pingback: Summer Reading Round-Up | Walking In Public

Leave a Reply

