Living In Literature: Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse

Whether it’s for home decor ideas or a bright spot of color in my morning, the one blog I turn to almost daily is Design*Sponge.  And there’s no column on the website that I look forward to more than Amy Merrick‘s “Living In” (whose 1-year anniversary is today)!

Amy perfectly captures the atmosphere of all my favorite movies, and I love the idea of gaining inspiration from a story long after it ends.  While movies have more than enough visual material for products, fashion and interior design, I’m left wondering how the same exercise could be applied to other mediums, such as . . . books!

Children’s literature is remarkable because it sparks the imagination, bringing fantastic elements into the context of daily reality.  The worlds created within kids’ books can be complex with ideas, but ultimately have to be simple and tangible enough for a child to understand.

It is with this thought in mind that I bring an homage to Design*Sponge with “Living In Literature”!  I’ll showcase children’s and YA books whose characters, themes and environments can be translated to a set of products, so both you – and the little ones in your life – can carry the spirit of the book once you’ve closed its pages.


I think there’s no better way to kick off “Living In Literature” than with my favorite children’s book heroine to be inspired by: Lilly from Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse, by Kevin Henkes.  Lilly has the kind of impulsive self-assurance that we often lose with age.  Even though she may not always be right, she learns a lesson in humility without losing her enthusiasm.  She’s a perfect personality to channel when you need a little burst of confidence.

For you:

list notepad $7, crown charm $52, purple purse $995 (a girl can dream…), knit dress $16, movie star sunglasses $13, yellow headbands $10 ea, Make A Wish bouquet $35, swiss cheeses $15-31/lb, star button necklace $25, lunch tote $22, red cowboy boots $327, cowboy rain boots $68

For the kids:

floral print dress $8, movie star sunglasses $5, lace mouse ears $35, purple plastic purse $7, star mirror decals $13, plush mouse toy $13, blue tiered skirt $30, bean bag chair $30, crown baby hat $20, fringe cowboy boots $25

Now, on those days when it would feel great to shout,

“I am Lilly!  I am the Queen!

I like everything!”

. . . grab some red boots or movie star sunglasses, and go take over the world!

One response to “Living In Literature: Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse

  1. I used to have another book of this author’s when I was a little kid. Thanks for reminding me of it Annie.

Leave a Reply

